How To Keep Healthy Feet

How many times have you actually stopped to think about your feet and pampered them for all the hard work they do day in and day out? With 26 bones, 33 joints and 100 tendon ligaments, your feet are not only one of the most complex parts of your body but are also the basis for your mobility. There are a number of foot-specific ailments that can occur if you don’t take good care of your feet. In fact, it is estimated that 75% of people will have some or the other foot problems at some point in their lives.

Unfortunately, most people aren’t aware of the magnitude of work their feet put in and the number of foot related infections and diseases that can occur due to neglect. With the onset of World Foot Health Awareness Month, in a bid to raise awareness about such foot related diseases and infections, this article will highlight commonly occurring foot diseases to help bring about more awareness and enable preventative footcare to avoid serious damage.

Common Foot Problems and Solutions

Fungal infections

You can contract a number of fungal infections merely due to the type of environment your feet are exposed to on a daily basis. It could be something as small as the repeated use of a non-breathable shoe to something as negligent as using a public shower at the gym!

The best way to treat this condition is to incorporate appropriate foot hygiene, where you wash and sanitize your feet after using public facilities and once you are back home. To reduce the impact of the infection, you can follow it up by applying anti-fungal cream and using anti-bacterial socks made out of breathable, moisture-wicking fabric.

Dry Skin

Extreme dryness on your feet can lead to a burning and stinging sensation in your feet, which can ultimately result in cracks that may cause secondary infections.

The treatment for dry skin is to use a good foot moisturizer that contains active ingredients such as vitamin E or similar essential oils. You can even use copper-infused socks to help reduce the skin damage as copper is known to be a key element in supplementing the growth of blood vessels.

Corns and Calluses

Such skin abrasions are caused by friction and stress between your footwear and a bony prominence.
While existing cases might require debridement along with the regular use of pumice and emollients, the treatment for this condition requires a complete change of footwear made of materials that reduce friction between the foot and the shoe. This could be done by changing your footwear or by using specially designed insoles or socks to reduce the damage.

Ingrown Toe Nails

This condition occurs when part of the nail breaks into the skin of the toe which can cause a secondary skin infection, which affects your foot’s integrity. While this condition is usually caused due to improper nail-trimming, sometimes narrow footwear may also lead to such a scenario, therefore laying more importance on the choice of your footwear.
This problem can be solved by carefully cutting the toe nail to re-distribute the pressure on the nail while treating the infection. Copper-infused compression socks are a great, non-invasive way of combating the secondary skin infection while waiting for the nail to heal, especially in case of recurring ingrown nail problems.

Warts

Warts are skin growths resulting from viral infections. It may also be a result of wearing improper footwear that constricts the foot.

The treatment for this condition is freezing or medications that destroy the virus, along with sanitizing baths and use of antiseptic creams and specially formulated socks.

Apart from these commonly occurring foot problems, people also suffer from general foot pain every now and then. This could be associated due to a traumatic injury in the past, heredity or general lack of a foot care routine for tired, overworked feet! Either way, a comprehensive foot care routine is a must! After all, it is only fair to reward such a hardworking part of your body.

Here are a few foot care tips you can implement to reward your feet for all the work they put in every day:

  • Inspect your feet regularly. Always be on the lookout for cuts, bruises, blisters, red spots as well as lumps and bumps.
  • Wash your feet regularly and wait until they are completely dry before putting on shoes and socks.
  • Trim toenails straight across and not too short. Don’t cut or dig at nail corners either.
  • Do not trim, shave or use over-the-counter medications to treat a foot infection or callus, always see a foot specialist first.
  • Always wear well-fitted shoes and socks. If you sweat profusely, you can use copper-infused insoles to leverage the moisture wicking capabilities of copper.
  • Indulge in an occasional foot soak with essential salts and oils at least once a week.
  • Remember to wash your shoes regularly to ensure your footwear is clear of harmful germs and bacteria
  • Avoid socks made of synthetic fabrics and try to go for natural fabrics like copper-infused socks
  • Make use of upcoming technology – Copper Compression Socks

Created using super-soft, breathable fabric, the copper-infused compression socks are the perfect non-invasive solution to healthy feet. The light compression promotes intravenous blood flow and reduces inflammation, while the anti-microbial properties of copper heals and protects your feet infection and odour causing germs.

Always remember, early detection of common foot conditions may prevent and correct problems that could lead to both acute and chronic foot-related health conditions. So, always stick to a preventative footcare routine and be on the look-out for abnormalities in the foot area to minimize long-term damage!

print

Comment Garder Mes Pieds?

Combien de fois vous êtes-vous réellement arrêté pour réfléchir à vos pieds et les choyer pour tout le travail acharné qu’ils font jour après jour ? Avec 26 os, 33 articulations et 100 ligaments du tendon, vos pieds ne sont pas seulement l’une des parties les plus complexes de votre corps, ils constituent également la base de votre mobilité. Si vous ne prenez pas bien soin de vos pieds, plusieurs maux spécifiques aux pieds peuvent survenir. En fait, on estime que 75% des personnes auront des problèmes de pieds ou d’autres à un moment donné dans leur vie.

 

Malheureusement, la plupart des gens ne sont pas au courant de l’ampleur du travail que leurs pieds font et du nombre d’infections et de maladies liées au pied qui peuvent survenir en raison de la négligence. Avec le lancement du Mois mondial de sensibilisation à la santé des pieds, dans le but de sensibiliser à ces maladies et infections liées aux pieds, cet article mettra en évidence les maladies des pieds courantes.

 

Problèmes de pied communs et solutions

Les infections fongiques

Vous pouvez contracter un certain nombre d’infections fongiques simplement en raison du type d’environnement auquel vos pieds sont exposés quotidiennement. Cela pourrait être quelque chose d’aussi petit que l’utilisation répétée d’une chaussure non respirante à quelque chose d’aussi négligent que d’utiliser une douche publique au gymnase !

 

 

La meilleure façon de traiter cette condition consiste à incorporer une hygiène des pieds appropriée, à nettoyer et à désinfecter vos pieds après avoir utilisé les installations publiques et une fois de retour chez vous. Pour réduire l’impact de l’infection, vous pouvez le suivre en appliquant une crème antifongique et en utilisant des chaussettes antibactériennes en tissu respirant qui évacue l’humidité.

 

Peau sèche

Une sécheresse extrême des pieds peut provoquer une sensation de brûlure et de picotement dans les pieds, ce qui peut entraîner des fissures pouvant causer des infections secondaires.

 

Le traitement des peaux sèches consiste à utiliser un bon hydratant pour les pieds contenant des ingrédients actifs tels que la vitamine E ou des huiles essentielles similaires. Vous pouvez même utiliser des chaussettes infusées de cuivre pour aider à réduire les dommages cutanés, car le cuivre est reconnu comme un élément clé de la croissance des vaisseaux sanguins.

 

Maïs et callosités

Ces abrasions cutanées sont causées par la friction et le stress entre vos chaussures et une proéminence osseuse.

Bien que les cas existants puissent nécessiter un débridement en même temps que l’utilisation régulière de pierre ponce et d’émollients, le traitement de cette condition nécessite un changement complet de chaussures en matériaux réduisant la friction entre le pied et la chaussure. Cela pourrait être fait en changeant vos chaussures ou en utilisant des semelles ou des chaussettes spécialement conçues pour réduire les dommages.

 

Ongles incarnés

Cette condition survient lorsqu’une partie de l’ongle pénètre dans la peau de l’orteil, ce qui peut provoquer une infection cutanée secondaire, qui affecte l’intégrité de votre pied. Bien que cette condition soit généralement causée par une coupe inadéquate des ongles, des chaussures étroites peuvent parfois mener à un tel scénario, ce qui donne plus d’importance au choix de vos chaussures.

Ce problème peut être résolu en coupant avec précaution l’ongle d’orteil pour redistribuer la pression sur l’ongle tout en traitant l’infection. Les chaussettes de compression à infusion de cuivre constituent un moyen efficace et non invasif de combattre l’infection cutanée secondaire en attendant que l’ongle cicatrise, surtout en cas de problèmes récurrents des ongles incarnés.

 

Les verrues

Les verrues sont des excroissances cutanées résultant d’infections virales. Cela peut aussi être dû au port de chaussures inadaptées qui resserrent le pied.

 

Le traitement de cette affection est la congélation ou les médicaments qui détruisent le virus, ainsi que des bains de désinfection et l’utilisation de crèmes antiseptiques et de chaussettes spécialement formulées.

 

En dehors de ces problèmes de pieds courants, les gens souffrent également de douleur au pied de temps en temps. Cela pourrait être associé à une blessure traumatique dans le passé, à l’hérédité ou au manque général de soins pour les pieds fatigués et surmenés ! De toute façon, une routine complète de soins des pieds est un must ! Après tout, il est juste de récompenser une partie si laborieuse de votre corps.

 

Voici quelques conseils sur les soins du pied que vous pouvez mettre en œuvre pour récompenser vos pieds pour tout le travail qu’ils font chaque jour :

soin des pieds

  • Inspectez vos pieds régulièrement. Soyez toujours à l’affût des coupures, des contusions, des ampoules, des taches rouges ainsi que des bosses et des bosses.
  • Lavez-vous régulièrement les pieds et attendez qu’ils soient complètement secs avant de mettre vos chaussures et vos chaussettes.
  • Coupez les ongles tout droit et pas trop court. Ne pas couper ou creuser les coins des ongles non plus.
  • Ne pas couper, raser ou utiliser des médicaments en vente libre pour traiter une infection des pieds ou des callosités, consultez toujours un spécialiste des pieds en premier.
  • Portez toujours des chaussures et des chaussettes bien ajustées. Si vous transpirez abondamment, vous pouvez utiliser des semelles intérieures infusées de cuivre pour tirer parti des capacités d’évacuation de l’humidité du cuivre.
  • Faites-vous plaisir avec un bain de sel et d’huiles essentielles au moins une fois par semaine.
  • N’oubliez pas de laver vos chaussures régulièrement pour vous assurer que vos chaussures ne contiennent pas de germes et de bactéries nocifs
  • Évitez les chaussettes en tissus synthétiques et essayez de choisir des tissus naturels comme des chaussettes infusées de cuivre
  • Utiliser la technologie à venir – Chaussettes Compression Cuivre

Créées avec un tissu ultradoux et respirant, les chaussettes de compression infusées de cuivre sont la solution non invasive parfaite pour des pieds en bonne santé. La compression légère favorise la circulation sanguine intraveineuse et réduit l’inflammation, tandis que les propriétés antimicrobiennes du cuivre guérissent et protègent l’infection de vos pieds et les germes responsables des odeurs.

 

Rappelez-vous toujours que la détection précoce de problèmes de pied courants peut prévenir et corriger des problèmes pouvant entraîner des problèmes de santé aigus et chroniques liés aux pieds.

Donc, tenez-vous toujours à une routine de soins préventifs et soyez à l’affût des anomalies dans la zone du pied pour minimiser les dommages à long terme!

print